Review: The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

‘I’ve been following her for the past few days. I know where she buys her groceries, where she has her dry cleaning done, where she works. I don’t know the colour of her eyes or what they look like when they’re scared. But I will.’

Mia Dennett can’t resist a one-night stand with the enigmatic stranger she meets in a bar. But going home with him might turn out to be the worst mistake of Mia’s life…

the_good_girl_frontThe sinister narrator’s perspective in the synopsis hooked me, and in The Good Girl I actually got even more than I expected. This strikes me as incredibly skilful for a debut as the novel actually has *four* different narrators, each with their own voice, distinctive personality and own insights to bring to the table. The plot contains the multiple layers necessary to draw you in and have you invested in the outcome.  Whilst I did see the plot twist coming, it still took the novel to a whole other level that gives food for thought long after you’ve finished reading.  What I enjoyed most was watching the different characters and relationships grow and evolve throughout the story.

What really let the novel down for me, was the unspeakably appalling formatting. All four narrators use the first person, and the point of view jumps randomly from one narrator to the other, as well as to different time-frames WITHIN THE SAME PARAGRAPH!! There was not so much as a line-break to separate them, so that one second you’re reading as the detective whilst Mia is missing, the next you’re the mother after Mia’s fate is known, then suddenly you’re the kidnapper during the kidnapping again. Frequently I would suddenly realise that what I was reading made no sense, and have to backtrack through the paragraph to try and determine at what point the point-of-view shifted. It was so jarring as to render the book almost unreadable, and it says a great deal about the quality of the character portrayal and intrigue of the plotline that I even continued reading. Hopefully these issues will have been ironed out by the time The Good Girl is published, and if so it is well worth your time. I for one am certainly excited to see this author’s future work.

Disclaimer: I was sent an ecopy of The Good Girl by NetGalley for the purposes of this review, but all opinions given are, as always, entirely my own.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

