Review: Gluten-Free Breakfast, Brunch & Beyond by Linda J. Amendt

Whilst I do not have coeliac disease, I do have more food intolerances than you can shake a breadstick at, and as a result I generally avoid processed food and opt for cooking everything myself from scratch.  As a former cooking-avoider, I thought this would be a horrendous task but in truth I found myself, not just eating more healthily than I ever had before, but also *enjoying* my food more than I ever recalled.  Thanks to that experience this cookbook interested me a great deal.  It aims to help the gluten-avoider revel in the same flavours and textures as the gluten-containing equivalent, but without that criminal ingredient spoiling all their fun.

Gluten-free breakfastThe first chapter contains information about gluten, gluten-free ingredients, and explains how the same textures can be achieved in baking without utilising gluten-containing products, followed by a recipe for homemade gluten-free flour which can be substituted into any recipe.  Chapters 2 through 10 contain a large assortment of recipes under the following subheadings:

  • Quick breads and muffins
  • Biscuits and scones
  • Pancakes and crepes
  • Waffles and French toast
  • Coffee cakes
  • Yeast breads and sweet rolls
  • Frittatas and omelets
  • Quiches
  • Savoury Stratas

Each chapter begins with a brief discussion of equipment, techniques and quick tips to achieve the desired results, and the recipe chapters are followed by appendices giving advice on ingredients with and without gluten, potential substitutions should the reader have an allergy to some of the other ingredients, and tips on converting favourite recipes to gluten-free.

As you can see there is a lot of useful information within this book, and each chapter also contains plenty of recipes.  Whilst some of the ingredients were alien to me, there appears to be a core range that are used frequently.  All in all, this seems a very useful book for anyone new to gluten-free cooking or desperate to recreate favourite gluten-containing foods of old.

Disclaimer: I was provided with a temporary download of Gluten-Free Breakfast, Brunch & Beyond for the purposes of this review, but all opinions given are, as always, entirely my own.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

