Review: Lord Poppington’s Popcorn

I was recently asked if I’d be interested in reviewing a new premium popcorn released by Savoury and Sweet, and I accepted both with alacrity and with slight misgivings.  I’m a big fan of popcorn, but am currently following Weightwatchers and feared that calorific popcorn would play havoc with my weight loss.

I needn’t have worried!  At a mere 94-128 calories per pack (2PROPoints a bag), any of the 4 flavours make an ideal low calorie snack, and at 20g per bag, make for a generous portion which is ideal for picnics or packed lunches.

All 4 flavours are gluten-free and suitable for vegetarians, while 2 are dairy-free.

Chilli and Lime (contains milk constituents)

This flavour practically leapt out the box at me as being right up my street.  My first thought was that the flavours were milder than I expected, but of course chilli builds, and by the end of the pack, the popcorn had a pleasant tingle.  I love citrus flavours and was disappointed that the lime flavour wasn’t stronger.

Lightly salted

Salted popcorn is of course a timeless classic, and the saltiness was just right for a deliciously fresh tasting savoury snack.

Four Cheeses (contains milk constituents)

As with the Chilli & Lime, the flavour was milder than I expected, and perhaps my least favourite of the 4 flavours, but perfect for those who like low calorie cheesey snacks that avoid being too salty.

Sweet & Savoury

Barbados golden sugar and cornish sea salt are combined to give an absolutely delicious tang that gives new life to the old cinema favourite.  I absolutely loved this flavour, and it’s definitely going to become a staple in my lunchbox!

Lord Poppington’s is available from selected independant retailers and from Amazon.  You can find more information on Lord Poppington’s website, or you can follow them on facebook or twitter.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

