Y is for Lactofree Yule Log

To celebrate Yule, I like to take a Yule Log to enjoy with those who will be sharing my day.  Last year (somewhat optimistically!) I thought I would like to make my own.

Ingredients

  • 5 large eggs, separated
  • 1/8 tsp lemon juice
  • 5oz caster sugar
  • 2oz cocoa, sifted
  • ½oz cornflour
  • 300ml Lactofree cream
  • 2 level tbsp icing sugar, plus extra for decoration
  • 2tbsp brandy (optional – can be substituted with vanilla extract or left out altogether)

Method

  1. Set the oven to 200°C or gas mark 6.
  2. Whisk the egg whites with the lemon juice until stiff. In a separate bowl whisk egg yolks and caster sugar until thick and creamy then slowly add double-sifted cocoa and cornflour.
  3. Beat one-third of the whisked egg whites into the cocoa mixture, then fold in the remaining whites using a metal spoon. Take extra care not to ‘knock’ the air out of the mixture. Spread evenly onto Swiss roll tin lined with greaseproof paper.
  4. Bake in the centre of the oven for 7½ – 8 mins.
  5. Whilst the sponge bakes, gets started on the creamy filling. Whisk the Lactofree cream until it forms soft peaks, then whisk in the sugar and add brandy/vanilla if desired.
  6. Once the sponge has been baked and cooled, turn it out onto a fresh sheet of greaseproof paper dusted with icing sugar. Lie the greaseproof paper on a clean tea towel to make it easier to roll.
  7. Spread the cream mixture evenly over sponge, and roll up. Start at the short end and slowly, but firmly, roll – removing the paper as you go.
  8. Once rolled, wrap in foil and refrigerate for 24 hours – you can skip this step but I would recommend placing the log in the fridge for a least an hour.
  9. To serve, trim each end (the cooks treat!), dust with icing sugar and decorate as you please!

Jay’s Insights

I strongly advise using an electric whisk.  I don’t have one, and my wrists were practically falling off after baking this!  It was so worth it though as the sponge is incredibly light and fluffy.

I found that I had far more cream filling than needed, so when I make this recipe again I’ll be trying with just the one carton of lactofree.

Rolling the sponge is very fiddly, and I managed to crack mine in a few places, so it wasn’t perhaps the prettiest yule log I’ve ever seen but boy was it gorgeous!  I took it into work with me and it vanished in a trice.

This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

