X is for Xenophile

Xenophobia is the fear or hatred of foreigners, or that which is foreign or strange.  I myself am delighted to enjoy the exact opposite: Xenophily.

I have always enjoyed travelling – it doesn’t matter where I am, I always get a great deal of joy from being on foreign shores, and love to see the sights, sample the cuisine (within reason!) and experience the culture.  I can’t readily think of anywhere that I emphatically wouldn’t want to visit.

By a happy series of circumstances my A-Z posts have largely had a travel theme.  Last year my father celebrated his 70th birthday and since he’d once told me he’d always wanted to go to St Petersburg, the family went on our first ever cruise, taking in Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Russia, Finland and Sweden.  Last winter I went on a charity trip to work in Uganda, and this year I was fortunate enough to visit Egypt – the place that had been at the top of my travel wish list for at least 20 years.  My passport has an impressive number of stamps in it!

Cruising isn’t something that had ever really been on my radar before, having expected it to be too expensive, but cruises seem to be much more affordable these days – in actual fact our 13 day Baltic Cruise was decided upon because it was cheaper than a 3 day minibreak to St Petersburg!  I have to tell you – cruising is a Xenophile’s dream come true!  Taking in 6 countries in just one holiday was fantastic.  There’s something magical about waking up just as the ship is pulling in to a new exciting destination.  If you’re a fellow xenophile I highly recommend it!

Now I need to decide where is top of my travel wish list now.  Any recommendations?

This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to X is for Xenophile

  1. Love your blog! From a fellow traveler and Zenophily!

Leave a Reply

