J is for Brandied Cherry Jam

I made my first attempt at jam making when I stumbled across an alcoholic marmalade recipe not long before Christmas and thought it would be a wonderful Christmas gift.  There’s something delightfully decadent about boozy jam!

I enjoyed both jam-making and giving a gift that I’d made myself so much that I promptly bought a jam pan and a fabulous little recipe book for the princely sum of £3.50 called Jams & Conserves by the Australian Women’s Weekly.  It’s packed full of fantastic recipes for all sorts of different fruits and my eye immediately lit on a recipe for Brandied Cherry Jam.

Ingredients

  • 900g frozen pitted cherries
  • 180ml water
  • 60ml lemon juice
  • 125ml cherry brandy
  • 880g white sugar (approx)

Instructions

  1. Combine cherries, water & juice in a jam  pan & bring to the boil
  2. Reduce heat & simmer, covered for approx 10 mins or until cherries are soft
  3. Stir in brandy
  4. Measure the fruit mixture.  Add 165g sugar for each cup of mixture
  5. Stir over heat, without boiling, until sugar dissolves
  6. Boil, uncovered, for approx 40 mins or until jam sets when tested on a cold saucer
  7. Pour into hot sterilised jars & seal immediately

I would recommend chopping the cherries – I had expected them to break down from the boiling as the marmalade fruit had, but they were still pretty much whole when I’d finished, so not as spreadable as one would wish!

The reference of a cup as a unit of measurement threw me completely as I only use hoofing great mugs for beverages in my house!  One of my measuring spoons informed me that ½ cup is 125ml, so I added 165g sugar for each 250ml mixture, which seemed to work just fine.

(Links are sponsored)

This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to J is for Brandied Cherry Jam

  1. Sounds good. How about hot pepper jelly? I was amazed at how good it is. Sounds not so good. 🙂 Peppers, vinegar, sugar. Yummy on a crackers with cream cheese. 🙂

    • Jay says:

      I quite like the sound of that Teresa! I do like my cheese & crackers too. A friend of mine makes delcious chutneys but I haven’t ventured past jam yet.

Leave a Reply

