Review: Lactofree Spreadable & Lactose-free Banana Muffin Recipe

I’m a fervent Lactofree fan, and I’ve posted about Lactofree in the past.  It’s a fabulous range of cow’s milk products that is free from lactose – the evil sugar that upsets the majority of us poor dairy intolerant folk.

Lactofree frequently poll the members of their Lactofree community regarding products or recipes they would like, and whilst Giant Chocolate Buttons is naturally the first on my wishlist, a dairy-free butter runs a fairly close second due to the sheer volume of dairy-free baking options that would be unlocked.  Well ladies and gents, the lovely people at Lactofree have answered our prayers!  Here is the brand new *drumroll* Lactofree Spreadable!

Jay’s Insights

My first order of business (before I’d even unpacked my food shopping!) was hot, buttered crumpets, and my word they did not disappoint!  Lactofree Spreadable is a blend of lactose free butter and vegetable oil, so it was easy to spread but still retained the taste and texture of butter.  I must confess I prefer my butter to have a lightly salted taste to it, however I would far rather add salt to something myself than have it too salty, and many baking recipes specifiy unsalted butter, so I think Lactofree got things spot on.

Which brings me nicely onto….BAKING!  I have been dying to bake a lactose-free cake for aaages, and I chose to make banana muffins using a slightly modified version of a Delia recipe.  This is a great recipe for using up slightly over-ripe bananas, and ten to one you’ll have the majority of the rest of the items in your cupboards.  I actually left out both the nutmeg and the cinnamon as I didn’t have any, and used golden syrup instead of honey, and the muffins were absolutely gorgeous – moist and delicious.

Lactose-free banana muffins

  • 75g/3oz Melted Lactofree Spreadable
  • 250g/9oz Self Raising Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Nutmeg
  •  115g/4oz Caster Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp Honey
  • 2 Large Ripe Bananas
  • 2 Medium Eggs
  • 125ml/4 floz Lactofree Milk

Method

(Delia’s recipe says serves 8, but I made 12 on my first batch, and a couple overflowed!  I’ve made them since and used 16 standard sized silicone muffin cases, which was just right)

  1. Preheat oven to 190c
  2. Leave melted butter to cool
  3. Mash the bananas well
  4. Sift the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg into a bowl. Add the sugar and mix well.
  5. In a second bowl, with a folk, beat together the eggs, vanilla extract, honey, butter and milk.
  6. Add the bananas to the egg mixture and stir.
  7. Make a well in the dry mixture and add the egg mixture. Stir roughly with a folk. (Don’t stir too much – it’s meant to be thick and lumpy!)
  8. Grease a muffin/cake tin well and fill each space with the mixture.
  9. Put in the oven for 20-25 minutes.
  10. Once golden brown and firm remove from oven leave to cool for 5 minutes in the tin and then 5 minutes on a wire rack.  Enjoy!!

Thank you Lactofree!  Now…..what’s the word on those Giant Chocolate Buttons?

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: Lactofree Spreadable & Lactose-free Banana Muffin Recipe

  1. Pingback: Jay’s Lactofree Banana Muffins :: Lactofree

  2. Judith Hill says:

    thank you, my grandson is lactose intolerant therefore lots of his favourites have to be abandoned or swapped for lacto-free choices, he loves muffins and this recipe will enable me to make his favourites, except for the chocolate ones; I agree with you Giant Chocolate Buttons for all lactose intolerant kids of any age.

Leave a Reply

