Simple Handmade Xmas Card

It’s that festive time of year again!  As per usual I had vowed to have all my Xmas cards made before December, and as per usual I have not!  I can’t stand the idea of making all my cards exactly the same, but at the same time, if you send lots of cards, you need some of the designs at least to be fairly simple, and ideally, if you’ll forgive me for being a Scrooge, not too expensive.  Here’s a fairly simple design which is not too hard on the wallet.

You will need:

  • A card blank
  • A piece of gold card (optional)
  • A piece of white paper
  • Xmas confetti
  • Xmas sentiment peel off (or your own handwriting in a gold pen)
  • A diamante gem (optional)

To make your card:

  1. Stick your peel off sentiment to the bottom of the card blank.
  2. Cut a piece of gold card (if using) slightly smaller than the card blank, so that the peel off shows underneath it, and stick down.
  3. Cut your white (or patterned if you have one suitable – nothing too fancy else it will detract from the confetti.  My pretty paper buying fetish meant I happened to have one in just the right colours) paper slightly smaller than the gold card, and stick down.
  4. Arrange your confetti trees into a tree shape.  I put green trees surrounding a single gold tree in the centre.  I use silicone glue for sticking confetti.
  5. The card was still missing a little something, so I finished it with a little green diamante gem to serve as the star on top of the tree.

Variations on the theme:

You don’t have to use tree confetti, although I quite liked that I could arrange them into a tree shape for added effect.  I have done similar designs with snowmen arranged in 3 rows of 3 (I did 8 white snowmen surrounding one silver one), and snowflakes arranged in 3 rows of 3, with a small diamante to set off the centre of each snowflake (you can’t tell from the photo because you can see reflections in the confetti, but it’s 8 silver snowflakes surrounding a gold one.  It looks more striking in real life than the photo, honest!)

*Puts on Gordon Ramsay voice* Simple Christmas Card.  Done.

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Handmade Xmas Card

  1. Cath says:

    Fab! I particularly like the snowflake one, very effective!

Leave a Reply

