Review: Parmazano dairy & gluten free grated hard cheese replacer

Every single Christmas I looked forward, not to the gargantuan Christmas lunch, but the meagre Christmas tea.  Stuffed silly from lunch, Christmas tea has always simply been cheese and biscuits and every year I would treat myself, Mum and Dad to our favourite cheese each.  Cheese was something I rarely kept in the house since I would go with regularity to the fridge and cut a chunk to eat on its own.  Nowadays it’s never in the house because I’m now dairy intolerant and can’t eat my beloved cheese without suffering for it afterwards.  Pasta dishes are never consumed because they’re frankly unappetising without lashings of cheese on top.  Until now, that is!

Parmazano is a grated cheese replacement that is both lactose and dairy free (so suitable both for lactose intolerants like myself, and those with a milk allergy), gluten free, suitable for vegans and vegetarians, made with non GM (genetically modified) ingredients, free from artificial colour and preservatives AND made in a nut-free factory.  The lovely MH Foods have clearly gone to a lot of trouble to cater to us poor fussy foodies!

Jay’s Insights

For the first time in a long time, and with some trepidation, I cooked myself a bowl of pasta and meatballs, and sprinkled a light dusting of Parmazano.  My first impression was that it smells mightily like strong cheese, whereas it is in fact made mostly of soya flour and potato starch.  It’s texture matches that of powdery parmesan, and it tastes nicely cheesey.  It was perhaps slightly salty for my tastes, but then, having ascertained that I liked it, I did rather *ahem* layer it on!  It seems like pasta is well and truly back on the menu!

To read more about Parmazano, find stockists or find some Parmazano recipes you can visit the MH Foods website http://www.mhfoods.net/parmazano.html

Disclaimer: This is a supported post, in that I was sent Parmazano to try, but the opinions given are, as always, entirely my own. 

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

