A-Z of Me

I have been tagged by Michelle at Old Fashioned Mummy to take part in Real Housewife of Suffolk County’s A-Z of Me Meme.  Michelle has tagged my blogging friends, so I’ll simply leave this one open to any bloggers that fancy taking part.

ANORAK…Do you have a sad side?

Of course not.  It’s perfectly natural to store your DVDs in alphabetical order, and rearrange the notes in your wallet so the Queens all face the same way.  (Yes really).

BODY…What physical attribute would you most like to change? 

My overall body shape.  I am a resounding pear shape, which I detest.  I’d love to shrink my hips so I’m that glorious hourglass that girls dream of.

CELEBRITY…Which one would you most like to date and why? 

This is a surprisingly difficult question because generally it’s the personality of the character that an actor is playing that makes them attractive.  I do have a thing for the character of Jim in Ghost Whisperer, who is played by David Conrad.

DEBUT …Tell us about your first ever blog post. What made you start blogging?

My first post was a Meme a friend tagged me for called It’s all about Me.  I was enticed into the blogging world by three blogging friends who were all taking part in the A-Z blogging challenge and nagged encouraged me to join them.  It was a great way to start blogging, as it gave me cues to blog to.  Without it I think I’d have been completely lost for inspiration.

ERROR …What’s been your biggest regret? 

This is a really hard question, because whilst I of course have many things I wish I’d done differently at the time, I don’t know how many I would actually go back and change, because they all made me what I am today.  I’ve finally gotten to a place where I’m fairly happy with who I am and my lot in life, and who knows how different I’d be had I done things differently.

FUNNY – who’s making you laugh?

Comedian-wise I like Eddie Izzard and Michael McIntyre.  I think the best laughs are always when you’re together in a group of friends though, and my school friends still have the ability to make me laugh til my sides hurt.

GRAND…If we gave you one right now what would you spend it on? 

My dog.  He recently had a herniated disc requiring 2 emergency surgeries, and has been in intensive care for 3 weeks.  My vet’s bill is over £6 grand and climbing.

HOLIDAY… What’s your favourite destination?  

I adore travelling, and being absolutely anywhere abroad has me high as a kite.  I couldn’t possibly pick just one destination as my favourite.  Kaikoura in New Zealand, New York, Paris, St Petersburg, Copenhagen and Berlin would be amongst them.

IRRITATE… What’s your most annoying habit? 

That’s hard to answer since it’s not me they irritate!  Probably that when I go to my parents I will throw tissues at the waste paper basket instead of getting up.  And miss.  Every.  Single.  Time.  By the time I leave there is a tissue mountain by the bin, which my dog makes a mess with, given half a chance.  I blame the inconvenient waste paper basket location.

JOKER…Whats your favourite joke {the one that makes you laugh everytime you hear it}?

I have an appalling memory for jokes.  Michael McIntyre has a sketch about dining at a restaurant and the waiter asking you to taste the wine to see if it’s corked (gone off) and wonders at your reaction if they brought the milk out for you to sniff to see if that’s off.  He then mimes taking a sip, spits it out and yells “EWWWWW, cheesey!” which never fails to make me laugh out loud.

KENNEL… Do you have any pets? 

My beautiful Westie Max who is absolutely precious.

LOVE…Are you single, married, engaged, living with a long term partner? 

Single and living with my long term Westie 🙂

MEAL… Whats your ultimate starter, main and dessert?

I absolutely love, worship and adore Chinese food.  Starters are always mixed platters, and my favourites include spring rolls, seaweed, prawn toast and salt & pepper chicken.  My favourite mains would be Kung Po chicken, and my local take out does sextastic salt & chilli pepper prawns.  Fried rice is mandatory.  I find people who order Chinese without rice odd.  Chinese restaurants/take outs don’t generally do desserts, and in any case by this point I’m unable to move.  My favourite dessert would have to be crumble and custard.

NOW…If you could be anywhere right now where would you be and who with?

Tucked up on my bed having cuddles with my little man, a decent movie on, a bottle of open Asti and my side and Chinese take out on the way.  The day Max comes home, this is where you shall find us.

OFF DUTY…What do you do in your spare time? 

Blog, read, walk my dog, craft, do physio, fundraise, visit friends, tweet, facebook.  Too much of the latter two.

PROUD MOMENTS …What are you most proud of? 

Completing the 5km Race for Life in 2010.  I spent several years with a crippling knee problem, and a year of that was on crutches.  It took me 9 months to build up to 5km, and it was a pretty huge deal for me.

QUEASY …What turns your stomach?

Dog poo.  I thought I’d get used to having to clean up dog mess, but Max is nearly 8 now, and I still haven’t.  Clearing up happens at full arm’s length, with a trowel, upwind and holding my breath.  And I still gag.

RELAX…How do you relax? 

With a nice meal and good company.

SONG…Whats your favourite song of all time? 

I don’t really have just one, but off the top of my head, Wytches by Inkubus Sukkubus.  You could ask me the same question every day for a month and get a different answer every time.

TIME …If you could go back in time and relive it again, when would you choose? 

Am I reliving it just to have the same experience & feelings again, or so that I can do things differently?  If the latter, then see E for Error, if for the former then I will chose my friend Stacey’s hen do this year.  I’d just gotten back from an *amazing* holiday, and gone straight to a fabulous hen do in London surrounded by my friends.  I remember thinking “Something’s going to go wrong [in life] soon.  Being this gloriously happy can’t be allowed”.  A few days later I was at the vet with my little man.  Thankfully being gloriously miserable isn’t allowed either.  Fellow Wiccans will recognise the refrain “this too shall pass”.

UNKNOWN…Tell us something about yourself that no one else knows? 

Is this where I’m supposed to make a tearful confession or an embarrassing nature?  I’m obviously not secretive enough, because I can’t think of anything!  Last night I scoffed a jumbo battered sausage *and* a *large* portion of chips, despite the fact that I’m intolerant to potatoes and they make me ill.  I couldn’t manage ’em all, but I went to town on those bad boys!

VOCAL…. Who is your favourite artist? 

I don’t actually have one.  The artist with the most songs on my favourites list is Rihanna.

WORK….. What is your dream job, and are you doing it now? 

I can’t imagine myself doing anything other than Optometry.  It’s absolutely perfect for me.  It’s an indoor “desk job”, but still manages to be entirely practical, running tests and making judgements based on the results.  If I *had* to go back and be something else, maybe a Physioterrorist.

XRAY…Any broken bones?

No, just tilted knee caps.

YIKES…What’s been your most embarrassing moment? 

Whilst at work a young gentleman with a crew cut arrived straight from work in his suit and tie for his eye exam.  I waited until he sat down before surrepticiously crossing out the Miss in front of his name and writing Mr in its place.  The young man stood up and came back and said “Excuse me, I saw you change that.  It’s actually Miss”.  I would have willing flung myself into a pit of hot coals.  In my defense, if you *will* wear a tie and have a crew cut when you’re flat-chested and have an androgynous first name, you’re kind of asking for that sort of mistake :/  I still die a little inside just thinking about it.

ZOO…. If you were an animal, which one would you be?

Up until his spinal problem, my dog Max had a pretty apealling lifestyle.  He’s still a blissfully happy chappie even now.

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A-Z of Me

  1. kirstyes says:

    oooo eeeeeer – you had a battered sausage last night did you ;o)
    Hope Max is home with you and the Asti and the Chinese soon.
    Storing your DVDs in alphabetical order is not sad it is sensible.

  2. The dog poo thing made me laugh, can’t believe you haven’t got used to it!

Leave a Reply

