Review: Agave Nectar from the Groovy Food Company

Do you want a lower calorie alternative to sugar, but dislike the idea of adding nasty chemically artificial sweeteners to your food?  The Groovy Food Company may have the answer to your prayers!

 Like so many people I have a real sweet tooth.  I used to use artificial sweeteners like they were going out of fashion until I developed food intolerances, and both the Gastroenterologist and Dietician I saw confirmed that for many people, artificial sweeteners can cause IBS symptoms.  Agave Nectar is the ideal solution.

 What is it?

 Agave Nectar is a natural sugar which is organically grown and squeezed from the Mexican plant Blue Weber Agave.  It is 25% sweeter than sugar, meaning you use less, and is a low GI (Glycaemic Index) food, meaning that unlike regular sugar it is broken down more slowly, keeping blood sugar levels more stable and avoiding the sugar high and crash that sweet treats can often give.

 Jay’s Insights

 I was really excited about trying these products, and as soon as I opened the box I squeezed a small dob out on my finger to taste.  The Light & Mild reminds me of mild honey, whereas the Rich & Dark was faintly treacly to taste.

 I’ve tried both varieties of Agave Nectar in tea, coffee and porridge and can honestly say that I can’t taste the difference between these products and sugar.  The Agave simply sweetened them without distorting the flavours.  The Low GI makes it ideal for diabetics who need to watch their sugar intake, but Agave is also suitable for Vegetarians, Vegans, Wheat & Gluten intolerants and those following Kosher or low cholesterol diets.  Unlike honey, Agave dissolves in cold substances, meaning it’s fabulous for smoothies, dressings, soft-drinks etc and can even be substituted for sugar in baking.

 What’s wrong with it?

 Nothing really!  My only constructive criticism is that it would be really helpful if there were a formula printed on the bottle to enable easy substitution into known recipes.  I have many cake or biscuit recipes that I would try with Agave if I knew how much to use in place of the sugar.  More dedicated bakers than I can try trial and error of course; I just dislike the idea of the effort and ingredients being wasted if I produce something inedible!  That being said, there are 9 recipes listed on the Groovy Food Company Website, so I have no excuse for not trying those first!

 Having tried this product I am a complete convert, and will be continuing to use it instead of sugar in all my drinks.  Agave Nectar is widely stocked in supermarkets (I’ve spotted it in Sainsbury’s baking aisle) and health food stores, or you can buy directly from the Groovy Food Company Website.

Disclaimer: This is a sponsored post, in that I was sent the products to try, but the opinions given are honest and entirely my own. 

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Review: Agave Nectar from the Groovy Food Company

  1. kirstyes says:

    I’d heard of this product but had no idea what it would be used for. May well try in place of sweetener now. Thanks.

  2. Stacey says:

    Sounds good – we use far too much sugar so could use an alternative!

    • Jay says:

      And especially good for the kids I would say. You don’t want to give them artificial sweetners, but don’t especially want them hyper on sugar either!

  3. Pingback: The Groovy Food Company’s wheat, gluten & dairy free cereals | Jay's Insight

  4. easter22@blueyonder.co.uk says:

    This is not a natural sweetener. I am surprised that you fail to mention that agave nectar is primarily composed of fructose and apparently from what I can gather has a higher fructose level than high fructose corn syrup. As we all now know fructose is not good for you. Maybe you can comment on the ingredients used in making this companies product.

    • Jay says:

      Thanks for your comment. Obviously any sugar product is not good for you if consumed to excess. My understanding is that Agave Nectar is a healthier alternative to common table sugar due to being both lower in glycaemic index and glycaemic load. If you have concerns or questions regarding the ingredients I’d suggest contacting the manufacturer, especially as this will vary from brand to brand.

Leave a Reply

