Banana & Chocolate Chip Cake

I’ve recently held 2 coffee mornings in aid of my Uganda Project with Vision Aid Overseas, and as my Banana and Chocolate Chip Cake has proven popular, with several recipe requests (get me!), I thought I’d share this delicious cake with you.

Unfortunately I can’t take credit for this recipe as, after initial scepticism, I myself demanded it from my friend Julie.  The scepticism stems from my lack of fondness for anything banana flavoured (Banana yoghurt? Bleurgh!), with bananas themselves having to be only just past green before I’ll attempt them.  (On a sidenote, I recall a girl at school who used to deliberately peel her banana at breaktime, so that it would be “nicely brown” by the time she came to eat it for lunch.  Bleurgh!).

In this instance though the bananas serve more to make the cake deliciously moist than being an overpowering flavour, and it is a nice way of using up any devilish bananas that have had the impertinence to develop speckles.

Ingredients

  • 2 large ripe Bananas
  • 1.5 teaspoonsVanilla essence
  • 6oz Margarine
  • 8oz Granulated Sugar
  • 10oz Self Raising Flour
  • pinch Salt
  • 1.5 teaspoons Bicarbonate of Soda
  • 3 beaten Eggs
  • 4oz packet of Chocolate Chips

Destructions!

  1. Preheat the oven to mark 3/325F/170C
  2. Grease and line a 2lb loaf tin
  3. Peel and mash bananas until smooth, then add vanilla essence
  4. Heat the margarine and sugar in a pan over low heat until sugar dissolves
  5. Remove from the heat and stir in self raising flour, salt and bicarb
  6. Beat in eggs and mashed bananas
  7. Leave to cool
  8. Stir in chocolate chips and spoon into greased, lined tin
  9. Bake for 1 hour until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean
  10. Leave to cool
  11. If desired, decorate with melted chocolate or banana slices half coated with chocolate

Jay’s Insights

  • If you are the unlucky owner of an evil fan oven, you’ll need to adjust the time and temperature.  On the one occasion I trusted my fan oven with this delicate masterpiece, crisis prevailed despite reducing both time and temperature, and I reverted, with swearing and disgust, to the mini fan-free section.
  • I don’t leave the batter to cool, I feel the adding of all the other cold ingredients does that sufficiently.  I add the chips straight away, and wong it in the oven.
  • 1 packet of chocolate chips (as purchased from Sainsburys) does not quite fulfil the 4oz specified in the recipe, and it’s quite obviously not worth storing *part* of a bag, so I just have to put 2 *whole* bags in.  It’s a travesty isn’t it?

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Banana & Chocolate Chip Cake

  1. Ric says:

    Looks nummy!
    Please can you detail exactly how you “wong” something in the oven. It’s a verb I’m not familiar with and I don’t want to risk making a mistake on this important-sounding step.
    Thanks,
    Ric

Leave a Reply

