Metal Mummy’s Movie Meme: Computer Animation

This is a meme hosted by Metal Mummy, who choses a different theme each week for participants to describe their all-time favourite movie within that genre.  On seeing that the category for this week is Computer Animations, my mind immediately went down the road of full scale animations such as Monsters Inc and I wasn’t going to take part since, whilst I love them, I haven’t really seen many animated films.

When I realised that Metal Mummy meant any film including CGI (which of course is a vast number of films these days), there was only one movie it could be:

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

In the highly unlikely event that you haven’t seen the film, it features a gang of pirates who kidnap the governor’s daughter in the mistaken belief that she can lift the curse that rendered them undead.  Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) has to overcome his hatred of pirates to team up with eccentric Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) to rescue his love.

I first watched the movie on a ridiculously small 14 inch TV from the other side of my bedroom, and the first CGI scene where the crew are shown in their true undead glory still completely and utterly blew me away.  Johnny Depp’s performance as the loveable roguish pirate is beyond brilliant, and he and the rest of the cast more than make up for the presence of Keira Knightly, who quite frankly annoys me enough to incite me to violence.

I loved the film and its sequels so much that when I finally treated myself to a comparitively vast 42 inch flatscreen, the very first thing I did was put down roots in front of it, popcorn clutched in hand, and watch all three Pirates films, one after another.  Despite several viewings, the CGI never fails to blow me out of my chair, and I can’t think of another film that equals it.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Metal Mummy’s Movie Meme: Computer Animation

  1. Hannah says:

    Brilliant choice. I love POTC. I’m gutted I’m not here for the opening weekend of the new one.

    The effects are awesome, well deserved of your post 🙂 Thanks for linking 🙂

  2. Stacey says:

    Eww, ewe! Keira Knightley’s jaw! Oh I’m not mad keen on her myself. An enjoyable movie although not one of my faves, but the CGI is incredible.

  3. Cath says:

    Errr, I haven’t seen it. *braces self for impending shriek of outrage*

    • Jay says:

      WHAAAAAAAT?!?! *That* needs rectifying immediately Madam. Be thankful you live so far away, else you’d find me camped on your doorstep clutching the DVD right this second.

Leave a Reply

