Z is for Zodiac

I bet pretty much everyone has read their horoscope at least once in their lifetime.  Now I have always viewed horoscopes with scepticism, since they are usually so vaguely generic that I scoff my distain and turn the page.

During my teens I joined one of those book clubs where you chose 5 from a list of 30 or so books for a miniscule sum, and then get discounted books once a member (The catch is that every single month they send you their choice of book, which they charge you for, unless you remember to phone to cancel it, and you invariably forget, but that’s by the by). Despite my scepticism for horoscopes, I chose Russell Grant’s Astrology Kit as one of my introductory books, thinking that I would draw up birth charts for my friends as a bit of fun.

Your star sign is the sign of the zodiac that the sun was travelling through at the time you were born.  A birth chart plots not only the position of the sun when you were born, but the positions of the moon and the 8 other planets as well.  If you know the place and exact time of birth, the point directly overhead, and the point rising over the horizon are also included.  Finally, the position of the planets in relation to each other is calculated.  The result is a groovy looking chart.  I was most aggrieved that my chart had so few coloured lines, and that they were all in the same half of the circle.  My friends’ charts looked like kaleidoscopes!  So unfair!Once the chart is drawn up, it is interpreted, which, so our friend Russ tells us, is where the skill comes in.  Thankfully Russ has done all the hard work for you, and you look it up in the relevant section of the book.  I drew up a chart for each of my friends, and then typed out the relevant interpretations.  My chart, which was the shortest having hardly any exciting kaleidoscope lines, is 7 typewritten pages long, so they’re quite in depth.

I drew up charts for myself and 7 school friends all born within a 9 month period, and the interpretations were very different from each other.  My chart even varied considerably from that of a friend born just 5 days after me.  What really surprised me, given that Russ’ interpretations weren’t generic but pretty specific, is that they were all incredibly accurate!

Astrology:  Science or Hocus pocus?  Discuss!

This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Z is for Zodiac

  1. Stacey says:

    Well, I’d have to go with hocus pocus, but it’s fun at least! I think I’ve still got my chart!

  2. Kirsty says:

    I know I have still have my chart and really treasure it. Thanks.
    Sometimes horoscopes seem acuarately spooky and sometimes way off the ball but when there are only 12 signs you can’t expect it to be perfect all the time. I’m not someone who lives by horoscopes but I do like reading mine and it makes me think at least.

  3. Cath says:

    Still got mine, *and* I know where it is!

Leave a Reply

