It’s all about me!

I am currently a blog virgin, and have just been enticed into the world of blogging by my friends Kirsty, Cath, Michelle and Stacey, and Stacey has challenged me to write this post.  It was originated by Kerry Jean Lister, based on a feature in The Guardian and seems like an appropriate way to kickstart my first blog, so…here goes!

Which living person do you most admire and why?

Wow, that’s a tough one.  I don’t think I can pinpoint one single individual, but I particularly admire people with the strength and grace to not only overcome adversity, but manage it with a smile on their face.

When were you happiest?

Now!  I am blessed with some fabulous friends, and wonderful family, I enjoy my job and have a gorgeous little dog, Max.  I wouldn’t say no to better health, but what would you strive and dream for if you had everything?

What was your most embarrassing moment?

I was working in an Opticians during my uni vacations, and a young chap with close-shaven hair and wearing a suit and tie strolled up to the desk and announced in a gruff voice that he was here for his appointment.  I asked him to take a seat, and surreptitiously scratched out the Miss in front of the Leslie Bloggs on the paperwork, and penned in Mr.  The young man came back over, and said “I saw you change the details on the paperwork.  It’s actually Miss”, at which point I would quite happily have flung myself into a pit of hot coals.

Aside from property, what’s the most expensive thing you’ve bought?

My car.

What is your most treasured possession?

My dog isn’t really a possession, so my charm bracelets.  I have a charm to commemorate each significant event in my life, or place I’ve travelled to since the millennium.  I nicknamed it my positivity bracelet because it reminds me how many things I have to be thankful for.

Where would you like to live?

Still in the Bournemouth area.

What’s your favourite smell?

Freshly baked bread.

Who would play you in the film of your life?

Jennifer Love Hewitt.  She’s gorgeous with such a cracking figure that I’d really love to hate her at least a teensy bit, but she seems like a lovely person as well.  Darn her!

What is your favourite book?

I couldn’t even begin to narrow it down to just one book!  I love Harry Potter, Twilight, Harlan Coben, Linwood Barclay, David Gemmell, and countless others.

What is your most unappealing habit?

Since the joys of dairy intolerance I can be prone to the pinnacle of ladylike sophistication: farting.  I’m thrilled about it.

What would be your fancy dress costume of choice?

Burlesque.  I love any excuse to wear one of my corsets.

What is your earliest memory?

I have an utterly hideous long-term memory.  I do remember my eye surgery when I was 5.

What is your guiltiest pleasure?

Giant Chocolate Buttons!  They only fall into the “guilty” subcategory of pleasures since, due to the afore-mentioned dairy intolerance, I ought to avoid them.  On the day that I say no to Giant Chocolate Buttons, Satan will be driving to work in a snow plough.

What do you owe your parents?

Undying gratitude.

To whom would you most like to say sorry, and why?

I spent a large proportion of Middle School being bullied.  A delightful experience.  My reaction to that was to bully a lovely lad by the name of Nicholas Worthington, who was unfortunate enough to fall even lower down the pecking order than me.  It shames me to this day.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?

Giant Chocolate Buttons 😉

What does love feel like?

A safety net.  Like it doesn’t matter what you say, what you do, or how far you’ve fallen, there’ll be someone to catch you before you hit the bottom, and help you back to your feet again.

What was the best kiss of your life?

No one human kiss stands out in my memory as being better than another, so I’ll say kisses from my little Max when he’s curled up quietly on my belly at night, and gazing at me like I’m a Goddess

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

Professionally, the words “for me” creep on the end of many of my instructions.  Privately “ffs” pops out all too frequently *blush*

What is the worst job you’ve done?

Working on the tills at Makro.

If you could edit your past, what would you change?

The obvious answer would be my knee problems, but hand on heart, I wouldn’t change them.  I feel like it’s changed me immensely, but for the better.  I guess maybe undo the food intolerances that occurred as a result of being over-prescribed anti-inflammatories for the knee problems.

What is the closest you’ve come to death?

I did a sky dive once.  I stared into the jaws of death!!

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Walking the 5km Race for Life in 2010.  I have had a serious knee condition which left me practically bedridden for several years.  When I first decided I wanted to walk the Race for Life in memory of a friend of mine, I could walk 100 yards.  It took me 9 months (the usual gestation period for babies, and weird events!) to build up to the full 5km, and to actually achieve it was very emotional.

When did you last cry, and why?

Welling up happens with regularity.  I get very involved in books, films, programs, songs etc.  It was probably at Ghost Whisperer.  I’m absolutely addicted to it, but so far I think I’ve managed to make it through just one episode without welling up.  I have no idea when I last had an out and out blub.  Not in a long time.

How do you relax?

Chilling with girlfriends and a bottle of Asti.

What single thing would improve the quality of your life?

Dundee, London, Harrogate and Derby, and the certain special friends living within them being within 5 minutes travel of Bournemouth.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

That life is waaay too short for “always wanted to”.  You never know what hand you’re going to get dealt next, so make the most of it, live, laugh and love.  To paraphrase something I once read, you don’t want to lie down in your grave thinking “I wish I had…”, you want to skid in sideways, a cocktail in one hand, a bag of giant chocolate buttons in the other yelling “Woohoooo!  What a ride!!”.

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s all about me!

  1. Kirsty S says:

    Yay, you have a blog, with correct punctuation!

    Gosh your embarrassing moment was, wasn’t it!

    Very good choice of Jennifer Love Hewitt to play you.

    Will be there cheering you on (rather than running along!) when you do the Race for Life this year.

    Looking forward to reading your A-Z

  2. Cath says:

    A supremely embarrassing ’embarrassing moment’! I have done similar things on the phone: ‘hello?’ / ‘hello, is that mrs smith?’ / ‘no it’s mr smith’ / ‘ah’.
    Looking forward to reading your blog!

  3. Jay says:

    Thanks guys 🙂 And yes indeed, an embarrassing moment that makes you die a little inside. I’ve never experienced mortification like it!

  4. Pingback: J is for Jay | Jay's Insight

  5. Pingback: A-Z of Me | Jay's Insight

Leave a Reply

